Cleared for NFF Presidential Race: Akinwunmi, Dikko, and Nine Others

Following the approval granted to 11 stakeholders yesterday, the image of those running to succeed Amaju Pinnick as President of the Nigeria Football Federation in the elective congress set for September 30 in Benin City has grown more obvious.

The list of candidates who are eligible to compete for the different posts as well as those who are ineligible was published by the NFF’s Electoral Committee 2022 yesterday.

Those who have been given the go-ahead to run for office include the current 1st Vice President, Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi, the current 2nd Vice President, Mallam Shehu Dikko, the current Chairman of Chairmen, Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau, the current Member of the Board, Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande, the recently-retired General Secretary, Barr. Musa Amadu, and the Head of Safety and Security at the Confeder

Former NFF First Vice President Mazi Amanze Uchegbulam, Chairman of the FCT Football Association Mallam Adam Mouktar Mohammed, Former Nigerian International Goalkeeper Peterside Idah, Former Chairman of Kano Pillars FC and renowned technocrat Alhaji Abba Abdullahi Yola, and UK-based David-Buhari Doherty have also been approved for the exalted position, which Pinnick will be leaving vacant.

Due to an invalid nomination, Mr. Marcellinus Anyanwu of Imo State was eliminated from the contest, while Mr. Paul Yusuf of Plateau State was similarly removed.

For the position of first vice president, three candidates—Chief Felix Anyansi-Agwu, a current board member; Senator Obinna Ogba, also a current board member; and Mr. Chinedu Okoye—will compete.

The only person who acquired the form and has been approved for the role of Chairman of Chairmen is current Board Member Alhaji Yusuf Ahmed “Fresh.”

Pastor Emeka Inyama of Abia State, Mr. Chikelue Iloenyosi of Anambra State, Mr. Karibe Pascal Ojigwe of Abia State, Mr. Jude Benjamin Obikwelu of Anambra State, and Sir Emmanuel Ochiagha of Anambra State are the candidates from the South East seeking seats on the Executive Committee (Imo State).

Alhaji Mohammed Alkali, from Nasarawa State; Rt. Hon. Margaret Icheen, from Benue State; Hon. Idris Abdullahi Musa, from Kwara State; Mr. Daniel Amokachi, from Benue State; and Mr. Benedict Akwuegbu, from North Central (Plateau State).

Currently serving as a member of the board, Ms. Aisha Falode is the front-runner on the list of candidates from the South South region. Chief Kenneth Nwaomucha (Delta State), Mr. Gregory Abang (Cross River State), Mr. Roland Abu Omomoh (Edo State), Barr. Poubeni Ogun (Bayelsa State), Mr. Jarret Tenebe (Edo State), and Rt.

On the list of candidates vying for seats in the South West, Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi, a current member of the board, is at the top, followed by Otunba Sunday Dele-Ajayi (Ondo State), Alhaji Olawale Gafar Liameed (Lagos State), Mr. Afolabi Taiwo Olugbenga (Osun State), Mr. Ayodeji Adegb Due to his failure to provide proof of his tax payment, Mr. Ayodeji Ogunjobi (Osun State) was disqualified.

Candidates from the North East include Alhaji Babagana Kalli, a current board member, from Borno State; Barr. Sajo Mohammed, from Adamawa State; and Mr. Timothy Henman Magaji (Taraba State)

The single contender from the North West is Alhaji Sharif Rabiu Inuwa, a current Board member from Kano State.

Related Articles


Leave a Reply

Back to top button