NFF electoral committee will today announce the candidates who are eligible.

According to the electoral commission, a list of candidates who are qualified to run in the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) elections, scheduled to take place in Benin on September 30, would be made public today.

Following the NFF elections, Nigerian football will have a new president and board members to guide it for the next four years.

Amaju Pinnick, the current NFF President, who served the organization for two terms, is not running for reelection.

The sale of nomination forms, endorsements, and form returns officially kicked off the election process on August 29. The screening of applicants took place on September 9 and 10, and it ended on September 8.

The electoral commission said that competitors and other members of the public who have any concerns about any of the candidates or the process have until September 15 to register such complaints, and that the hearings for appeals will take place on September 16 and 17.

Prior to the elections scheduled on September 30, the successful candidates are anticipated to launch their campaigns on September 20 and wrap it up by midnight on September 22. The final list of the selected candidates will be made public on September 19.

Justice Abdulkadir Zakariyya serves as vice chairman of the NFF Electoral Committee under the leadership of Aikhunegire Anthony Malik.

In addition to Ifeanyi Dike and Ransom Ariyo, the committee also includes Babatunde Ogala, Daha Umar Daura-Danburam, and Gambo Mamman.

Gandi Umar serves as the chairperson of the appeals committee, along with Ayo Akindele, Chive Kaave, and Idi Halidu Ali serving as alternative members.

The candidates were required to have paid a variety of fees to get their nomination papers, which they were then required to submit to the organization by September 8 at the latest.

For those competing for the NFF president, nomination papers cost N500 000, while those for the first vice presidency cost N400 000.

Candidates had to pay N350 000 to become Chairman of Chairmen, while N300 000 was required to become a member of the NFF Executive Committee.

Seyi Akinwunmi and Shehu Dikko, the current first and second vice presidents of the NFF, as well as Chairman of Chairmen Ibrahim Gusau, are among those aiming to replace Pinnick.

David Doherty, a football scout based in the UK, Christian Emeruwa, a Ph.D. who currently serves as the Confederation of African Football’s (CAF) Head of Safety and Security as well as FIFA’s Senior Safety and Security Officer, Abba Yola, a former chairman of the Kano Pillars Football Club, Amanze Uchegbulam, a former NFF board member, and Musa Ahmadu, a former secretary

Anyanwu Marcello, a former Arsenal soccer school coach who is now the head scout and consultant for Gulf United Football in Dubai, Mainasara Ilo, a former FIFA U-17 LOC executive director, and former Super Eagles players Idah Peterside, Ben Akwuegbu, and Jonathan Akpoborie are also vying to succeed Pinnick.

Those seeking for positions on the executive committee include Aisha Falode, chair of the Nigerian Women Football League (NWFL), and Karibe Ojigwe, a former international and current commissioner of sports for Abia State.

Related Articles


Leave a Reply

Back to top button